It’s December, and I’m Stewed!

 Yesterday was the first day we got snow, which is unusual for my little part of the globe. We generally have had 1-2 feet by now. (You won’t hear me complaining!)  That first snowfall is always the prettiest. And it’s days like these that make me want something warming and homey to take the chill off. So what better way to warm up a cold day than SOUP! (The post title should have been “I’m Souped!”, but “stewed” is funnier! :))

Now, I pride myself on my down-home cooking skills, but there are two things that defy me in the kitchen. Soup and Gravy. I KNOW! What kind of farmer can’t make soup or gravy?  That would be me. So when I get the urge to make soup, I have to follow a recipe, which I generally don’t use, and the dogs and husband run into  other rooms and shudder in fear.  But, after reading this recent report I figured I better learn to make good soup, and quick!!

So, after a brief search I found this recipe for Minestrone soup. Looks yummy, right? And the best part is, I have 90% of those vegetables frozen or canned from my garden last year! YAH!! FOR GROWING YOUR OWN FOOD! I’m not gonna have any of that chemical crap in THIS soup! Let’s hope it’s edible…

After a few tweaks to the recipe, here’s what I came up with:

(This was before the “Cleaning up the Details…” post, as you can see.)

Actually, this is what was left after we ate a lot of it, packed some for lunch, and froze 2 quarts for later scrumptious consumption! It was DELICIOUS! I really think the secret to this deliciousness was the homegrown goodness. So what exactly is in there that I grew with my own little hands?

  1. Yellow squash and zucchini, frozen
  2. Green beans (frozen or canned, I used canned)
  3. Onions
  4. Carrots (actually had to supplement with store bought, because I didn’t have enough. Note to self: Plant more carrots next year!!)
  5. Stewed tomatoes
  6. Tomato sauce, which was seasoned with home-grown oregano and basil.

The only thing I didn’t have was the kidney beans and celery. Maybe I’ll grown those next year?! Oh, and the garlic, but I have garlic in the ground already, since they have to over-winter. (Yeah!!)

Happy December Everyone!

One response

  1. Pingback: Food for thought, and a thought on food… « lost art of simple living

Leave a Reply

