Semi-Homemade Gingerbread Pancakes. YUM!

Remember how I wrote the post about all natural foods and cutting back on junk, etc, etc?  Forget that for a moment.

Between rushing to church, being starved, 2 wiley dogs itching to go for a run,  a husband frantically finishing an end of the semester project, cleaning, wrapping, shopping, baking, and all the other joys that come with the month of December—-

Somedays you just have to go with some bisquick and a Betty Crocker recipe, you know?

In my defense, my first thought when my eyes flew open this morning and my brain was screaming “GINGERBREAD PANCAKES!!” was to go to IHOP, which we haven’t been to in years. But this time of year, they always advertise their gingerbread pancakes, and they have whipped cream with cute green and red sprinkles…mmmm….Anyway, luckily upon further wakening, I realized I could make some more cost effective, tastier, healthier pancakes right here at home!

So, thank you Betty Crocker for this easy, quick recipe.

2 1/2 cups Original Bisquick® mixMy dad says you could patch a tire with this stuff. I think he’s joking, but I’ve never tried. 😛 It does EVERYTHING!
1 cup milk
3/4 cup apple butter—-I used my home-canned, made in the crock-pot, applebutter from this summer! YUM!
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 eggs

Stir, and cook as usual. I served with some corned beef hash (Hiss, moan, boo–I know, terrible), apple slices and coffee. Oh man was it good.

Now for all you PHO-TO-GRAPHERS (said in my native rural PA dialect), this picture is for you…

THE FINAL PRODUCT

PA-POW!

Yeah, these are the left overs, ready to hit the fridge. I didn’t have the will power to take the time to photo them prior to filling my belly. Sorry. The jar is the scrumptious homemade applebutter. I encourage you all to try it!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

