It’s Christmas cookie time!

If you can’t tell by the new header, it is, indeed, Christmas cookie time. 🙂 So far I’ve made Chocolate chip (a must have for every and all occassions!), and the sugar cookies in the header.

I used a new recipe for my chocolate chip cookies this year. I am always on the look out for a soft cookie, because they’re my fav. I found this recipe from The Frugal girls and gave it a try. I made regular sized cookies. At first, I thought they didn’t taste much different that the ones I usually make, but two days later, they remain moist and chewing! That’s definitely different than the ones I usually make. YUM!! I put 3/4 of the batch in the freezer until cookie tray time. My husband is sad…

Another staple I make every year is sugar cookies. I have a love/hate relationship with sugar cookies. I love to make them, but I always gripe about how much work they take. Then, I love to roll them out and cut cute shapes, but am always dissappointed because they cook unevenly. You know, the edges are crisp because I made them too thin, or the angel got squished when I put her on the tray, so now she looks like an Oompa Loompa.

I don’t like my cookies crunchy, and I had yet to find a soft sugar cookie recipe, UNTIL NOW!  Let me introduce you to my new favorite sugar cookie recipe found at allrecipes.com.

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup shortening
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter, shortening and sugar. Stir in the eggs and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt, stir into the creamed mixture until dough comes together. ***
  3. Bake cookies 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven, until bottom is light brown. Remove from baking sheets to cool on wire racks.

***The original recipe says to roll into wall nut sized balls, and dip in sugar. My terrific husband got me a Wilton cookie mold tray for Christmas last year (probably after getting tired of my complaining about my “stupid cookie cutter sugar cookies“). So I just pressed the dough into the molds evenly and baked until they were a light golden brown, and they turned out PERFECT! 🙂 No Oompa Loompa angels or crispy santas!

Then, the best part!

The FROSTING! 🙂

I don’t really measure when I make my frosting. But I’ll guess-timate.

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons corn syrup (it makes it shinier, I think.)
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla (I like vanilla)

Then just mix. If it’s too runny, add more sugar, if too thick, add more milk or corn syrup.

I really like how they turned out this year. They’ll make the cookie trays really pretty.

There was one mistake however…

The gingerbread man.

As soon as I stopped frosting him, I realized “He looks like he’s wearing a diaper.” And it looks like it might be full…. At least he’s happy about it! 🙂

Happy Baking!

 

Leave a Reply

