Ringing in 2012 by Reflecting on 2011.

My first thought is “2011 was a tough year.” Job changes, death, loss of pets, loss of dreams, illness…the usual unpleasantness that comes with life.  As a born and raised pessimist, it’s my nature to dwell on the negative. And I do. Alot.

So, in the spirit of thankfulness, and recognition that I have far more blessings in my life than most, I wanted to make a list of wonderful, happy, joyous things that happened in 2011. It’s impossible to list them all, so I’ll name the biggies.

  • Despite the odds, I found a job that fit every need I have (pays the bills, flexible hours, low stress). I’m 4 months in, and still enjoy it. (GASP!)  And the time off between jobs that caused worries turned out to be relaxing, and fun, and exactly what I needed at the time. Funny how that works.
  • The Emergency Room visit resulted in a few antibiotics, and a clean bill of health.
  • We had given up hope on something we greatly desire, and although plans didn’t work out this time, we learned it’s still possible.
  • I live in a beautiful home with a yard that affords me the opportunity to garden, spend time outside, undisturbed by neighbors and traffic. It has a leaky roof, but it’s warm, comfortable, and filled with love and laughter.
  • I found a passion in building a self-sustained lifestyle that my husband shares. We have the foundation started to begin relying more on ourselves, and less on buying.
  • Having a farm turned out to actually be possible.
  • My garden. I love it. It brings me peace, serenity, and fulfillment. I learned so much about growing this year, and can’t wait to begin in 2012.
  • Despite our losses, our lives remain full of love and support from family and friends.
  • I celebrated my 2nd wedding anniversary with my very best friend, who understands me better than anyone else in the world, who loves me unconditionally, who makes me laugh on a daily basis, who has a heart of gold and has made me happy since the day I met him, and who I look forward to spending the rest of my life.

It’s the simple things that turned out to be the greatest blessings this year. Life couldn’t be better.

 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Leave a Reply

