I gave up Facebook!

I did! It’s true. It’s my new year’s resolution. I deleted my account. With fair warning to my “friends,” I encouraged a phone call and good old letter writing in lieu of facebook messages. And, I hit the deactivate button. *GASP*

11 days in, and I don’t miss it a titch. Actually, I haven’t even thought about it until today. I was driving home from the grocery store and thought, “I haven’t looked at facebook in 11 days. Wow, that went fast!”

I don’t know exactly why I felt compelled to get rid of it. But I’m fairly certain it has to do with the over abundance of information I was exposed to multiple times a day that, to be honest, I couldn’t care less about.

It’s kind of like when you’re REALLY hungry for something. Grapes, for example. And you go, and buy forty pounds of grapes and eat 8 pounds a day for the next 5 days, then, all of the sudden the idea of eating another grape makes you want to barf. That’s how facebook is for me. I really just don’t have a taste for it anymore. The constantly updating local news stories, and blogs I “liked,” the friend requests from people I went to junior high school with that I never really got along with, and haven’t thought of in 20 years, but feel compelled to “add,” and the incessant ramblings of people you thought were normal in real life, but you are now beginning to question….
It has all become too much! So, in an effort to simplify life, as my header states, I gave up facebook.

But I’m sure my headaches going away, and all this restful sleep I’ve been getting in 2012 has nothing to do with that….

Happy Social Media-ing.

3 responses

  1. I fully agree with you on this, I never registered with nor have I ever logged onto facebook, myspace and such sites. I really don’t care if people I know and ‘Don’t’ know are going to the bathroom, getting a starbucks coffee, or they think their dogs and cats are so cute!

    More or less normal email and my blog is more entertainment than I really want to waste my time on..

  2. Pingback: I’m back!! For the moment… | lost art of simple living

Leave a Reply

