Rosemary dipping…bread? My Delicious Goof.

I came across this recipe for rosemary olive oil dipping bread, over at Caramel Potatoes. (A recently found blog  full of homemade deliciousness!) In her post, she refers to some restaurant that serves it, that I have never heard of.  We have a place called Bravo that serves it, and it is my ffffffaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaavorite.   We’ll go there rarely, for special occasions. When we do, I’m usually full prior to my meal coming, because I stuffed myself on rosemary bread. So, needless to say, I was all over this recipe like white on rice.

And it turned out AWESOME!! Just like the restaurant.

Oh wait….

Sad specimen of "RAISED" bread.

I won’t even tell you what comes to mind when I look at this. I thought the recipe was “good for beginners.” Piff. And I’m not even a beginner!!

Anyway, there’s a number of things that could be the culprit to this pile of sad looking dough.

1. The yeast packet was already opened. It looked like it was bubbly when I added the warm water but, who knows. I was doing 10 other things at the same time.

2. I cut the recipe in 1/2, because I didn’t have a full packet of yeast.  I am notorious for forgetting that I halved the recipe halfway through, and ending up with half of some ingredients, and all of the rest.

3. My impatience got the best of me, and I didn’t let it rise long enough.

Of course, being frugal in nature, throwing this out was not an option. So, after doing a quick search on how to salvage flat bread, I decided just to roll it out, cut it into pieces, and see what happened. And look!

They’re delicious!

The yeast must have been somewhat active, because they rose just a titch. I ended up with biscuit/breadstick kind of things that taste wonderful! I baked them at 375 for 20 minutes, and they ended up soft on the inside, and crispy on the outside. I brushed them with olive oil while they were still hot.

I’ll definitely try to make the rosemary dipping bread again (with a new packet of yeast). But if all I ever end up with are these little treats, I’ll be happy.

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

