Apple Wontons (Cleaning out the fridge, Part 2.)

We had new Year’s Eve 2012 at our house this year. It was an hors d’oeuvre  (who are we kdding, let’s call it finger foods) party. One of the things I made was baked crab rangoon. It’s a super easy, and super delicious recipe, but I had about half a pack of wonton wrappers left, hanging out in the fridge.

I also went a little hog-wild at the grocery store when I found organic, locally grown apples (CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?!) on sale.

I bought 10 pounds. (Apples store, right?)

We still have our canned applesauce and apple butter from the fall, so I didn’t want to make that. And, I’m trying to watch my weight, so delicious buttery apple desserts are out. Then it occurred to me… APPLE WONTONS!

My sincerest apologies for my crap-ola pictures. I’m trying.

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 1 medium apple, cored, peeled and chopped
  • 2 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • Splash of lemon juice, or vanilla extract
  • 24 wonton wrappers

HOW LONG IT TAKES:

  • PREP: 10 minutes
  • BAKING: 8-10mins

WHAT YOU DO:

  1. Heat the oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Mix apple, cinnamon, sugar and vanilla extract in a medium bowl.
  3. Drop mixture into 1 wonton by 1 tsp full.
  4. Use finger or brush to apply a small amount of water to edges of wonton. Fold in half to form a triangle, press and seal.
  5. Bake 8-10 minutes until golden brown and crispy.

We ate ours with caramel sauce. But I bet they would be killer with some vanilla ice cream!

Enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

